Workplace injuries can happen in a split-second. After being injured at work, many workers don’t know what to do. The most important thing a worker should do after being injured on-the-job is seek immediate medical attention depending on the severity of the injury. In addition to seeking medical attention, workers should also report their injury to their employer as soon as possible.
After getting medical attention, workers should see if they are eligible to receive workers’ compensation benefits under Michigan law. Workers’ compensation can provide benefits to help pay for lost wages and medical and rehabilitation treatments after a workplace injury.
The workers’ compensation system can be complicated and difficult to understand. What should workers know about workers’ compensation benefits after suffering an injury at work? Below is a list of information about workers’ compensation benefits that all Michigan workers should be aware of:
- Most companies in Michigan have a private workers’ compensation insurance policy or are self-insured.
- Employers choose your doctor after an injury for the first 28 days of treatment. After the first 28 days, you can change doctors if you notify your employer and workers’ comp insurance company.
- Approval from your employer or insurance company is not necessary for receiving medical treatment for an injury unless your claim is disputed.
- Wage-loss benefits have a seven-day waiting period and benefits will start on the eighth day. The seven days include weekends and holidays.
Workers’ compensation claims can be disputed by an employer or insurance company. Workers who have been injured should be sure to report their injury to their employer and look into filing a workers’ compensation claim as soon as possible because there are strict eligibility requirements for receiving workers’ compensation benefits.
Source: Workers’ Compensation Agency, “Worker Information,” Feb. 21, 2014